Nikisha

Just another WordPress.com site

Dear Mili (2) September 23, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — nikijan @ 2:47 pm
So I survived the week. And I managed to catch 99% of my deadlines. I’m proud of myself 😉
 
So here is the first 3 pages of Dear Mili after the letter prelude.
 

 
There was once a widow who lived at the end of a village; all she had in the world was a little house and the garden that went with it.  Her children had died, all but one daughter, whom she loved dearly.  She was a dear, good little girl, who was always obedient and said her prayers before going to bed and in the morning when she got up.  Everything she did went well.  When she planted something in her little garden patch, a clump of violets or a sprig of rosemary, it took root so well that you could see it growing.  When danger threatened the little girl, she was always saved and the mother often thought it in her heart: My child must have a guardian angel, who goes everywhere with her, even if the angel cannot be seen.
 
*************************
 
But it was not God’s will that the happy life they led together should continue, for a terrible war overran the whole country. 
 
One fine, clear day when mother and child were sitting together outside the house, a great cloud of smoke rose up in the distance and a little while later the heavens resounded with cannon fire. Shouts and tumult rent the air on all sides.
 
"Great God!" cried the mother. "What a fearful storm is coming! Dear child, how shall I save you from the wicked men!"
 
And in her great fear, she decided to send the child into the forest, where no enemy could follow. 
 
"Come," she said, putting a piece of cake left over from Sunday in the child’s pocket. "Come, child.  I will take you to the forest.  Then go straight ahead until you are quite safe; wait three days and come home; God in His mercy will show you the way."
 
She took the child to the edge of the forest, kissed her, and let her go.
 
 
(More to come, stay tuned)
 

2 Responses to “Dear Mili (2)”

  1. Princess Z(zz) Says:

    hmm… don\’t think i\’ve ever read this story. another book added to my list!
     
    congrats on the deadlines!! 😉 how\’s other side of the planet?
     

  2. Nikisha Says:

    I got my deadlines met last week, and more this week.  It\’s just never ending. So frustrating.
    The book hasn\’t got the exciting part yet.  I love the prelude but the ending is equally exciting.  I\’ll post some more soon. 
    How\’s your vacation? Where are you now?


Leave a comment